Sevens And Springboks

Men's Health |

Since the professional era began in 1995, rugby union’s two codes have become more and more specialized. The early days could have players hopping between the two nonchalantly, albeit they still needed to have extra air in those lungs and speed in those hamstrings. But the blend of power, stamina and speed has become that much more relative.

Some began their international careers on the sevens circuit, but have since made their mark on the 15 man game with aplomb, as Bob Skinstad would say. Today players often find themselves needing to commit to one code, but there are a few special exceptions. Here are some Springboks who have donned the green and gold in both formats:

Warren Whitely
Cornal Hendricks
Jano Vermaak
Juan du Jongh
Ryan Kankowski
Gio Aplon
Heinrich Brussouw
Bryan Habana
Kabamba Floors
Tonderia Chavanga
Jaco Pretorius
Grant Esterhuizen
Luke Watson
Jean de Villiers
Brent Russell
Gerrie Britz
Joe van Niekerk
Jorrie Muller
Andre Pretorius
Adi Jacobs
Gcobani Bobo
Conrad Jantjes
Bolla Conradie
Ricardo Loubser
Gaddie du Toit
AJ Venter
Selborne Boome
Andre Snyman
Bobby Skinstad
Peter Rossouw
Andre Venter
Breyton Paulse
Henry Honiball
Chester Williams
Joost van der Westhuizen
Reuben Kruger
Andre Joubert